5 Best Christmas Movies

In honor of my post on Publisher’s Weekly about the top 10 Christmas romance novels, I’m working on a couple other Christmas Bests lists!  Today, I’m sharing 5 of my favorite Christmas movies.

1. Love Actually

From the opening montage (especially Bill Nighy’s ridiculous “Christmas is All Around” recording session) to the closing notes of “God Only Knows,” this movie just makes me so happy.  Somehow, the multiple stories weave together effortlessly, and I love how it mixes the bitter with the sweet.  I can never decide what’s my favorite thread, or who is my favorite character.  What about you?

Favorite line: Sam: Okay, Dad. Let’s do it. Let’s go get the shit kicked out of us by love.

2. White Christmas

There’s a reason that this is a classic.  For those of you out there who (gasp!) don’t watch “old” movies, suspend your derision just long enough to check out this charming movie about two duos who put on a Christmas show as a favor for an old friend.  Starring Bing Crosby, Danny Kaye, Rosemary Clooney, and Vera Ellen, the blockbuster cast showcases their excellent singing, acting, and comedic chops.

Favorite line: Phil Davis: [sighs] I don’t know what he’s up to, but he’s got that Rodgers and Hammerstein look again.
Betty Haynes: Is that bad?
Phil Davis: Not bad, but always expensive.

3. Elf

Check out Will Ferrell and a (blonde?) pre-New Girl Zooey Deschanel in this charming homage to those old-school stop-motion Christmas movies, which manages to be current.  Will Ferrell’s joy and enthusiasm for Christmas as the elf Buddy is infectious, and I only wish I had his help decorating my house every Christmas!

Favorite Line: Buddy: You sit on a throne of lies!

4. Muppet Christmas Carol

I have loved the Muppets my whole life, from Sesame Street and Muppet Babies up to The Muppet Movie last year, but I think this might be their best effort overall.  Michael Caine is delightfully blustery and British as Ebeneezer Scrooge.  Of course, Kermit plays his beleaguered clerk, Bob Cratchit.  I think my favorite characters, however, were Gonzo as Charles Dickens and Rizzo as his sidekick.

Favorite line: Rizzo: Light the lamp, not the rat!

5. The Holiday

I am a romance writer after all.  I really enjoy watching every single person in this movie about two women who swap houses (in LA and outside of London) and gain love in the process.  I wouldn’t have thought Jack Black would make a good romantic lead, but I found myself falling for his character as much as Jude Law’s.  Plus, I can’t resist Eli Wallach as the elderly neighbor.

Favorite line: Cheating here, but I love the whole Blockbuster scene.

Honorable Mention:

Meet Me in St. Louis

It’s not really a Christmas movie, since it follows a family throughout the year, but the most important events in the movie take place at Christmas.  It also brought us the song “Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas.”  Well worth watching!

Favorite line: 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to 5 Best Christmas Movies

  1. Nathan says:

    I’ll have to nominate Prancer and the original Yes, Virginia there is a Santa Claus starring Charles “Death Wish” Bronson.

  2. cat says:

    Awesome post! “Light the lamp, not the rat!” always makes me think of you for some reason. I LOVE that quote from Meet Me In St. Louis. I still haven’t seen White Christmas but I mean to every year. The only movie left off your list is While You Were Sleeping – of course, it’s probably only dear to me because my sis and I watched it every Christmas Eve until we memorized it :p Now please excuse me, I’ve got a Christmas movie marathon to play…

  3. Pingback: Christmas Countdown 2: Favorite Ornaments | Anne Browning Walker

Leave a Reply

