Christmas Countdown 2: Favorite Ornaments

So the Christmas Countdown continues with some of my favorite ornaments from the tree.  Getting them out every year is so much fun, and I bet my ideas of which ones I like best change a little every year.  But for Christmas 2012, here are my top 5.

5.  Santa’s Bag of Letters

This is a new one for me, but I love the stamps and I think Santa has a great face.

 Santa's Bag of Letters

4. Crystal Poinsettia

This is a Swarovski crystal ornament that just comes alive on the tree and glitters everywhere.  It’s always fun to put it on the tree.

Crystal Poinsettia

3. Roslyn, WA Moose

Those of you who were fans of Northern Exposure may know that it was filmed in Roslyn, Washington.  My husband and I visited there a couple summers ago after we finished watching all the seasons and got to see the Brick and other places featured in the show.  We couldn’t resist this moose ornament, which reminds us of all the fun we had on that trip, and all the fun we had watching the show.  It’s a little ridiculous, but I love it.

Roslyn Moose2. Snuggling Snowmen

I just think this ornament is adorable.  And I think it probably accurately portrays us as a couple, with the snowman having the wide smile and the snowwoman looking a little bit shyer.  I always think of my husband with a big goofy grin on his face.

Snuggling Snowmen1. Sleeping Beauty Waltz

This was one of the first ornaments I received from my mother-in-law, and I’ve loved it ever since.  It captures one of my favorite moments in Sleeping Beauty, which is one of my favorite Disney movies.  And I think it’s so innovative in doing it that I just adore this ornament.

Sleeping Beauty Waltz

These are my top 5 ornaments.  But I said yesterday that my tree might need some homemade decorations. Growing up, our tree always had a charming array of both homemade and professional, and I always loved both.  Some kids fight about placing the star or angel atop the tree, but my sister and I fought each year over who got to put “Santa Riding on a Cootie” onto the tree.  We also had clothespin people and ornaments my sister and I made in school.  But there’s always time for that in the future.

What are your favorite ornaments to put on the tree?

This entry was posted in Christmas. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

